Habitat & game

Okowiruru-North is very rich in wildlife due to the extensive cattle farming with its waterholes and the dense bush which offers the game many cover. In recent years, many mature Kudu bulls have been taken here whose presence was previously often only anticipated. Big resident predators are Leopard, Cheetah and Brown Hyena.

Okowiruru offers the hunter exciting hunting opportunities: the thick bush hides the secrets of the wild usually very well, but a quiet and attentive stalking will usually be rewarding with encounters with old Boars, Kudu bulls or with a little luck a further hunter: the fascinating Cheetah. The habitat is interesting for all hunters and their families – a variety of supposedly secretive animals such as Aardvark, Bat-Eared Fox, Python or Honey Badger can be seen during just one hunting week.

The farm Okowiruru-North is located 200 km northeast of Windhoek in the so-called Sandveld. The farm is run in the third generation as a cattle farm. Since the nineties trophy hunting has been introduced. The landscape consists predominantly of thorn bush savannah which can sometimes be open and in other places very dense. After a rich rainy season, there are several natural waterholes that then dry out at the end of the year. Then the game is also dependent on the numerous water sources, which are filled by wind and solar energy. Cattle fences are an important part of pasture farming, but are no obstacle to game.

Kudu, Oryx, Hartebeest and Warthog are the main game species on Okowiruru. Since the beginning of the farming activities they are hunted for meat supply and are valued as part of nature. Leopard, Cheetah, Brown Hyaena and Jackal also leave their tracks on the farm. The chances on a big old warthog Keiler are very good on Okowiruru-North.

On Okowiruru, you can also take part in farm life, inspect cattle, ride the farm horses and learn a lot about the tough farm life both in the past and the present.

The main game species are:

  • Greater Kudu

  • Oryx

  • Warthog

  • Hartebeest

  • Jackal

  • Baboon

  • Cheetah

Accommodation

Guests are accommodated in Okowiruru in a separate guest house in three double rooms, each with its own bathroom. Meals are taken on the large veranda behind the main house, and in the evening there is a blazing campfire for the sundowner drink. The menu consists mainly of game meat with African accents.

The hunt

Due to the flat topography the extensive hunting area can not be viewed from above. Coverts and feeding places are carefully stalked in the early morning and late afternoon. The shot distance is rarely more than 150m, usually we get close. The shot from the target stick is standard and should be practiced before a trip. In the hot midday hours you can rest at the farmhouse or sit at a waterhole to wait for warthog boars.

Gallery

EXPERIENCE AFRICA’S ORIGINAL BEAUTY AND VASTNESS!

We understand hunting as applied conservation and sustainable use of our precious resources. Namibia offers exceptional landscapes, outstanding wildlife and true adventure. Come hunting with us, and let us make your safari an unforgettable experience!

MAKE A BOOKING REQUEST

Habitat & Wild

Okowiruru-Nord ist sehr wildreich, aufgrund der extensiven Rinderhaltung mit ihren Wasserstellen, und dem dichten Busch der dem Wild viele Rückzugsmöglichkeiten bietet. In den letzten Jahren sind hier viele große Kudubullen zur Strecke gekommen, deren Anwesenheit sich zuvor aber oft nur erahnen ließ. An Großraubwild kommen Leopard, Gepard und Braune Hyäne als Standwild vor.

Okowiruru bietet dem Jäger spannende Jagdmöglichkeiten: Der Dickbusch verbirgt die Geheimnisse der Wildbahn meist sehr gut, aber beim leisen und aufmerksamen Pirschen gerät man sehr oft an uralte Keiler, alte Kudubullen oder erblickt mit etwas Glück einen weiteren Jäger: den faszinierenden Gepard. Das Habitat ist für alle Jäger und deren Familien interessant – eine Vielzahl an vermeintlich heimlichen Tieren wie Erdferkel, Löffelhund, Python oder Honigdachs lassen sich durchaus während nur einer Jagdwoche sehen.

Die Farm Okowiruru Nord liegt 200 km nordoestlich von Windhoek im sogenannten Sandveld. Die Farm wird in dritter Generation als eine Rinderfarm gefuehrt. Seit den neunziger Jahren ist die Trophaeenjagd als ein weiterer Betriebszweig hinzugekommen.

Die Landschaft besteht ueberwiegend aus Dornbuschsavanne die mal offen und an anderen Stellen sehr dicht werden kann. Nach einer ergiebigen Regenzeit gibt es mehrere natuerliche Wasserstellen die dann zum Ende des Jahres austrocknen. Dann ist das Wild auch auf die zahlreich angelegten Wasserstellen angewiesen, die mit Wind und Solarenergie gefuellt werden. Rinderzauene sind ein wichtiger Bestandteil der Weidewirtschaft, sind fuer das Wild jedoch kein Hindernis.

Kudu, Oryx, Hartebeest und Warzenschwein sind die Hauptwildarten auf Okowiruru. Seit Beginn der Farmerei werden sie zur Fleischversorgung bejagt und als Teil der Natur gehegt und versorgt. Leopard, Gepard, Braune Hyaene und Schakal ziehen ebenfalls ihre Faehrten auf der Farm. Die Chancen auf einen kapitalen Warzenkeiler sind auf Okowiruru Nord sehr gut.

Auf Okowiruru nimmt man aber auch am Farmalltag teil, kontrolliert Rinderposten, kann die Farmpferde reiten und erfährt viel über das harte Farmersleben früher und heute. Die Hauptwildarten sind:

  • Großer Kudu

  • Oryx

  • Warzenschwein

  • Kuhantilope (Hartebeest)

  • Schakal

  • Pavian

  • Gepard

Unterkunft

Gäste sind auf Okowiruru im separaten Gästehaus in drei Doppelzimmern jeweils mit eigenem Vollbad untergebracht. Die Mahlzeiten werden auf der großen Veranda hinter dem Haupthaus eingenommen, und abends gibt es ein loderndes Lagerfeuer zum ersten Drink. Der Speiseplan besteht überwiegend aus Wildgerichten mit afrikanischen Akzenten.

Die Jagd

Das weitläufige Jagdgebiet ist durch die flache Topographie nicht von oben einzusehen und so werden Einstände und Äsungsgebiete am frühen Vormittag und späteren Nachmittag vorsichtig abgepirscht. Die Schußentfernung beträgt selten mehr als 150m, meistens kommen wir nah heran. Der Schuss vom Zielstock ist Standard und sollte vor einer Reise geübt werden. In den heißen Mittagsstunden kann am Farmhaus geruht oder ein Ansitz auf Warzenkeiler gemacht werden.

Galerie

Erleben Sie mit uns Afrikas ursprüngliche Schönheit und Weite!

Wir verstehen die Jagd als angewandten Naturschutz und nachhaltige Nutzung unserer wertvollen Ressourcen. Namibia bietet außergewöhnliche Landschaften, herausragende Wildvorkommen und echtes Abenteuer. Kommen Sie mit uns Jagen, und lassen Sie uns Ihre Safari zu einem unvergesslichen Erlebnis machen!

BUCHUNGSANFRAGE STELLEN